CSPH History

Created by Decree No. 74/458 of the 10th of May 1974, adopted in the wake of the first oil crisis, the Hydrocarbons Prices Stabilization Fund (HPSF) operated for several years as a "small institution". Its management was composed of a supervisory committee entrusted and empowered to manage its core business. Under the authority of the Director of Prices whose role was to implement the decisions of the supervisory committee, the HPSF was able to accomplish its mission with the support of a service known as the financial commission in charge of controlling the management of the organization. The Minister of Trade now ensures the supervision of this institution.

On the 31st of December 1980, the HPSF was reinforced by Decree No. 43/MINEP/SG/SAC, by setting-up accounting and documentation offices. In January 1988, an Executive Committee was created by Decree No 88/150 to set up new structures to ensure effective and efficient management of the HPSF. A major reform took place on the 26th of August 1998 by Decree No. 98/165, reorganizing the HPSF as a modern, autonomous structure whose operation follows the classic rules for the management of public institutions. This included a Board of Directors with conventional authority, a management team placed under the authority of a Managing Director and assisted by a Deputy Managing Director (the Managing Director of the HPSF is henceforth different from the Director of Prices) and an auditor.

This reorganization was confirmed after the Board of Directors adopted an organization chart that structures the fund into two departments, four services, an economic and technical studies unit comprising three assistant research officers with the rank and prerogatives of head of service, two executive officers with the rank and prerogatives of head of service, an office in Douala under the coordination of a head of office with the rank and prerogatives of head of service assisted by two offices, seven offices and two administrative attachés with the rank and prerogatives of head of office.

On the 12th of December 2002, the HPSF Board of Directors met in its 6th extraordinary board meeting under the leadership of Louis Marie ABOGO NKONO, Chairman of the Board of Directors adopted a new organization chart that restructured the HPSF into 4 departments, with 2 Research Officers, 11 Services, 2 Executive Officers and 19 offices. On the 22nd of December 2005, the Board of Directors reorganized and adopted the organizational chart which included 2 Project Managers, 4 Departments, 1 Division, 1 Research Officer, 10 Services, 1 Assistant Research Officer, 2 Executive Officers, 16 Offices and 1 Secretary to the Board of Directors.

Meeting in its 16th extraordinary board meeting on the 13th of December 2010, the Board of Directors proceeded to restructuring the organization chart to be composed as follows: 2 Project Managers, 1 Research Officer, 5 Departments with the major innovation of the creation of an Internal Audit Department, 1 division, 2 Units, 12 services, 2 Executive Officers, 1 Secretary of the Board of Directors. The current organization chart was adopted by the Board of Directors at its 18th Extraordinary Session on December 20, 2012 and has for innovation, the creation of the post of Technical Advisor, the creation of the Communication and Translation Unit and the creation of a department in charge of the Infirmary.

Finally, the HPSF was reorganized by the decree N°2019/032 of January 24, 2019.